WWW.POPKUNGEN.BLOGG.SE

YOU WANT ME TO TOUR WITH YOU, DON'T YOU?

 
Michael’s keyboardist Greg Phillinganes shows Michael a few chords. Greg met Michael during the recording of the Jackson’s ‘Destiny’ album and was the musical director on Michael’s ‘Bad’ and ‘Dangerous’ concert tours. Greg was also recruited for Cirque du Soleil’s Michael Jackson: The Immortal World Tour. Greg recalls receiving an unexpected gift from Michael and Michael’s roundabout way of asking him to tour! 

 

Michael did something really sweet for me that I’ll never forget. The running joke at that time was that I was a famous keyboard player but I didn’t own a Rhodes of my own. After we finished the Destiny album, I was at home minding my own business when my doorbell rang. A guy driving a white truck asked me, “Are you Greg Phillinganes? I have something for you.” He opened the truck and took out a giant case with a Rhodes Suitcase model in it. Attached was a note from Michael: “I knew you didn’t have one of these so I thought you’d like one.” I still have that Rhodes, and I recently had it completely redone. It sounds amazing.

 

I’ll never forget the way Michael asked me to tour with him. We were working on the Bad album, and from time to time he’d say, “Um, you really enjoy performing, right?” And I’d say, “Yeah. It’s great.” I didn’t really think anything of it. Time would pass, and he’d say to me, “Um, you like performing live, right?” I’d reply, “Yeah, it’s great.” More time would pass, and he’d then say to me, “Um, you really like live audiences, right?” This went on and on, until it finally dawned on me. I said to him, “You want me to tour with you, don’t you?” And he said, “Yeah.” The next thing I knew, I was the musical director for the Bad tour, which was huge.




0 Kommentarer | Startsidan
Publicerat det: 2014-04-29 | Klockan: 09:52:00 | Kategori: Andra om MJ


KOMMENTERA INLÄGGET HÄR!

Namn:
...................... Bloggadress:

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)
Kom ihåg mig?

Kommentar: