WWW.POPKUNGEN.BLOGG.SE

NATE GIORGIO: ARTIST AND FRIEND OF MICHAEL JACKSON

Nate Giorgio is one of today’s most respected, influential and award-winning fine artists. Known for his masterful paintings and stunning portraits, Nate was born in Binghamton, New York, began his professional art career in New York City, and later moved to Los Angeles, California.  In 1984, Nate Giorgio, signed an exclusive contract to be Michael Jackson’s personal artist.  In addition to the private commissions, exhibits and artwork sold around the world, his illustrations appear inside and on the cover of the ‘Michael Jackson Opus‘ and in Michael’s book ‘Dancing the Dream‘, to name just a few.
 
How did Nate Giorgio originally meet Michael Jackson?
 
Nate Giorgio: “I read how he loved art so I did a few paintings and sent them off to his office. I was still in NY and one day his assistant called me. She said MJ’s right here dancing around when he saw your art, he wants to meet you. Within a few weeks he flew me out to his home in Encino and we met. We went to see a rough cartoon version of Captain EO! At Disney studios, him and I just sitting there eating popcorn checking out the film. It blew me away and it was still rough, hand drawn segments mixed with live action.”
 
About the photograph below of Nate Giorgio and Michael Jackson:
 
Nate Giorgio: “Sam Emerson, Michael Jackson’s Personal photographer, took this picture of me and MJ.  At the time, in 1988, I was MJ’s guest on his BAD tour in Rome.  We were actually at a party in this photo, just hanging out when MJ just asked Sam to get a shot of the two of us together. This party might have been at one of the Embassy’s. I’m not sure.”
 
 
The notion of celebrity and Nate Giorgio's take on this phenomenon with Michael Jackson.
 
DanseTrack:

If a person lives long enough, it is not that unusual–maybe at least once in a while–to encounter someone who is considered famous.  Especially if you live in areas such as New York City or Los Angeles, celebrity sightings can be a relatively common occurrence.  In most of these instances, however, you get the feeling that the person can lead a relatively normal life. Sure, they get double takes and the occasional request for an autograph, but by and large, the person of particular recognition can go out wherever or whenever they please.

 

With Michael Jackson, however, that was definitely not the case. I think you probably got a glimpse of that when you worked with him. What insight do you have into that aspect of Michael Jackson’s life?

 

Nate Giorgio:

 

“Yeah, MJ couldn’t go anywhere without being mobbed. I saw a lot of that from early on at the height right up to the time he passed.  I would see this when I would visit him at the Carolwood home.  At one of my visits to his house, in 2009, there was the usual crowd of fans at the front gate.  When I met with him inside a short while later, I said, “Man, how do you do it?  Day in and day out, you constantly have to deal with people wherever you turn.”

 

“MJ just looked at me and smiled as though it did not bother him one bit. He had that expression on his face that said that this was something he dealt with because it was a part of him.  From such an early age, he had just gotten so used to it.  MJ felt that the fans truly were an extension of his image.  He thrived on it, and this is one of the reasons he commissioned paintings like the hero pieces I did. These paintings represented the image he wanted to project for the fans, as much as for himself.”

 

“People always talked about how he was a prisoner, and that he could not go anywhere. Like all serious artists, however, he was mostly just a loner.  MJ did not seem to worry about living a normal life. When an artist creates, that artist steps into his own little world, which is a much stronger place than people think. That world is not fragile, but is instead full of power and creativity.  MJ, I believe, was like this.  It is very difficult to even compare him with any other celebrity.  Because of his unparalleled artistry, MJ viewed his isolation much differently than one would expect.”

 

“And, at times, he did go out and there were his children, who meant the world to him.  MJ loved studying and discussing art and  frequently met with other creative people he admired.  So fame never kept him from doing what he loved. That’s for sure.”

 

 
“This is a photo I took in Italy, in 1988, while looking out the window and down at the tour bus I rode in with MJ while in Rome for his Bad concert tour. Fans would swarm the front and back, so we couldn’t move. I think we were getting ready to go somewhere and I took this quick shot from my room. Such an incredible time…”
 
Källa: DanseTrack.



0 Kommentarer | Startsidan
Publicerat det: 2013-11-09 | Klockan: 00:49:00 | Kategori: Andra om MJ


KOMMENTERA INLÄGGET HÄR!

Namn:
...................... Bloggadress:

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)
Kom ihåg mig?

Kommentar: